Where to get BLS certified in San Antonio: 12 options compared
There are more than a dozen places to get an American Heart Association BLS card in San Antonio, and they run very differently. Some are full classroom courses, some are 30-minute skills checks on a machine, some come to your facility. This page compares them on the things that actually decide the choice, with facts taken from each provider's own website.
How to choose, before you read the list
Check the AHA status first
A card is only an AHA card if it comes through an AHA Training Center or a Training Site aligned to one. Most providers below state their status plainly. If a site says "AHA-approved" or "AHA aligned" without saying which, ask before you pay.
Decide between classroom, blended and skills-only
Classroom means the whole course in one session with an instructor. Blended means you do the AHA HeartCode lessons online, then come in for a skills session. Several San Antonio providers now offer skills-only checks on a voice-guided manikin with no instructor in the room, which is fast but is not a good fit for a first-timer. There is no fully online AHA BLS card.
First card or renewal?
If this is your first BLS card, a classroom course or a blended course with a real instructor is the safer choice. If you are renewing and confident in your skills, a fast skills session may be all you need.
One person or a whole team?
For a facility, the question is not which storefront is closest, it is who will come to you. Only some providers offer onsite group training, and it is the format that puts an entire staff on the same renewal date.
Do not choose on "same-day eCard" alone
Every AHA card is issued electronically after the instructor processes the roster. Some providers process it before you leave, others within hours. It is a convenience, not a quality signal.
The 12 providers at a glance
Scroll sideways if the table is wider than your screen. Every cell is taken from the provider's own site; "not stated" means the site did not say.
| Provider | AHA status (their wording) | Formats | Where | Same-day eCard claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC Healthy MindsThat is us | AHA Training Site | Instructor-led classes; onsite group training at your facility | Service-area business based in San Antonio, teaching across Texas, Tennessee and California. No public storefront | No same-day promise. eCard issued after the instructor processes the class |
| Help-A-Heart CPR | States it is an AHA, Red Cross and HSI Training Site and Training Center | Classroom; blended online plus skills check; onsite group training | Citadel Plaza, San Antonio 78209 | Yes, advertises a same-day certification option |
| RC Health Services | AHA Training Center | Classroom; a "contactless" BLS option; virtual BLS skills session; onsite corporate and group training | Park Ten Blvd, San Antonio 78213 | Not stated on their site |
| Citywide CPR | AHA Training Center | Blended HeartCode plus skills session; skills-only; onsite group training. No full classroom course listed | N New Braunfels Ave, San Antonio 78217 | Yes, advertises same-day AHA eCards |
| CPR Cart | Describes itself as an AHA authorized distributor using the RQI skills model, not as a Training Center or Site | Hybrid only: online self-paced lessons plus in-person RQI skills; onsite training offered | Three sites: downtown 78205, IH-10 West 78230, NE Loop 410 78217 | Yes, advertises an instant AHA eCard on completion |
| CPR Certification San Antonio | AHA Training Site | Classroom; blended for the First Aid portion; onsite group training | Three sites: Thousand Oaks 78232, Babcock Rd 78240, Fairhaven St 78229 | Yes, advertises a same-day card |
| CPR Certification Labs | States it is aligned with an out-of-state AHA Training Center as a Training Site | Blended HeartCode plus a short in-person skills session only | Central Parkway N, San Antonio 78232, with a second Huebner Rd office listed | Yes, advertises an eCard issued on the spot |
| AllCPR | Describes itself as AHA-approved; also lists Red Cross courses | In-person only for AHA BLS | 6th St, San Antonio 78215 | Yes, states you leave with your card in hand |
| Rescue CPR | AHA Training Site | Classroom; blended options; group requests | Golden Quail, San Antonio 78240 | Not stated on their site |
| Thri San Antonio | AHA Training Site | Classroom; online hybrid with in-person skills; walk-in BLS skills on weekdays. Does not currently run onsite classes | San Pedro Ave near the airport, 78216 | No. Their FAQ says the eCard email may take a couple of hours |
| CPR Heart of Angels | AHA Training Center | Classroom; blended HeartCode plus skills; onsite at client facilities | Grissom Rd, San Antonio 78251 | Not stated on their site |
| CPR San Antonio | AHA Training Site aligned to a Training Center; also offers Red Cross, HSI and ECSI courses | Classroom; blended; onsite anywhere in Texas | Evers Rd, San Antonio 78238 | Yes, advertises a same-day eCard |
Each provider in more detail
- AHA status
- AHA Training Site
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS, Heartsaver CPR AED, Heartsaver First Aid
- Formats
- Instructor-led classes; onsite group training at your facility
- Where
- Service-area business based in San Antonio, teaching across Texas, Tennessee and California. No public storefront
- Same-day eCard
- No same-day promise. eCard issued after the instructor processes the class
Nurse-led. The same company also runs compliance and mock-survey consulting for assisted living and residential care facilities, so a facility can get training and compliance help from one team.
- AHA status
- States it is an AHA, Red Cross and HSI Training Site and Training Center
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS, Heartsaver CPR AED and First Aid, plus bloodborne pathogens, Stop the Bleed and instructor courses
- Formats
- Classroom; blended online plus skills check; onsite group training
- Where
- Citadel Plaza, San Antonio 78209
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises a same-day certification option
The widest course catalogue in the city, covering three certifying bodies under one roof.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Center
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS and PALS (initial and renewal), First Aid, instructor courses
- Formats
- Classroom; a "contactless" BLS option; virtual BLS skills session; onsite corporate and group training
- Where
- Park Ten Blvd, San Antonio 78213
- Same-day eCard
- Not stated on their site
Long-established, with instruction described as led by registered nurses and paramedics.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Center
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS, CPR and First Aid
- Formats
- Blended HeartCode plus skills session; skills-only; onsite group training. No full classroom course listed
- Where
- N New Braunfels Ave, San Antonio 78217
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises same-day AHA eCards
The skills session is self-guided on a voice-assisted manikin, about 30 minutes, without an instructor present for the hands-on part.
- AHA status
- Describes itself as an AHA authorized distributor using the RQI skills model, not as a Training Center or Site
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS (certification and renewal); Heartsaver listed
- Formats
- Hybrid only: online self-paced lessons plus in-person RQI skills; onsite training offered
- Where
- Three sites: downtown 78205, IH-10 West 78230, NE Loop 410 78217
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises an instant AHA eCard on completion
Hands-on portion described as under 30 minutes with appointments available around the clock at most locations.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Site
- Courses
- BLS CPR and AED, with an optional First Aid add-on. No ACLS or PALS
- Formats
- Classroom; blended for the First Aid portion; onsite group training
- Where
- Three sites: Thousand Oaks 78232, Babcock Rd 78240, Fairhaven St 78229
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises a same-day card
BLS-focused with several locations. Not an option if you also need ACLS or PALS.
- AHA status
- States it is aligned with an out-of-state AHA Training Center as a Training Site
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS. No Heartsaver or First Aid
- Formats
- Blended HeartCode plus a short in-person skills session only
- Where
- Central Parkway N, San Antonio 78232, with a second Huebner Rd office listed
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises an eCard issued on the spot
Built around speed: skills sessions start every hour, seven days a week. Not a classroom course.
- AHA status
- Describes itself as AHA-approved; also lists Red Cross courses
- Courses
- AHA BLS Provider (initial and renewal), adult and pediatric CPR, AED; Red Cross CPR and BLS
- Formats
- In-person only for AHA BLS
- Where
- 6th St, San Antonio 78215
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, states you leave with your card in hand
Offers a price-match promise rather than a published price.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Site
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS, plus IV, phlebotomy, Stop the Bleed, childcare and family classes
- Formats
- Classroom; blended options; group requests
- Where
- Golden Quail, San Antonio 78240
- Same-day eCard
- Not stated on their site
Veteran and family owned, in business for many years, with classes described as starting every two hours.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Site
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS only. Does not currently offer Heartsaver First Aid
- Formats
- Classroom; online hybrid with in-person skills; walk-in BLS skills on weekdays. Does not currently run onsite classes
- Where
- San Pedro Ave near the airport, 78216
- Same-day eCard
- No. Their FAQ says the eCard email may take a couple of hours
Simulation-focused training with recurring weekly time slots shown on the site.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Center
- Courses
- BLS, ACLS, PALS, PEARS, Heartsaver CPR AED and First Aid, bloodborne pathogens, instructor courses
- Formats
- Classroom; blended HeartCode plus skills; onsite at client facilities
- Where
- Grissom Rd, San Antonio 78251
- Same-day eCard
- Not stated on their site
Broad AHA catalogue and Sunday hours on the west side.
- AHA status
- AHA Training Site aligned to a Training Center; also offers Red Cross, HSI and ECSI courses
- Courses
- BLS, Heartsaver CPR AED and First Aid, skills-only sessions, Spanish-language CPR, pediatric and K-12 classes
- Formats
- Classroom; blended; onsite anywhere in Texas
- Where
- Evers Rd, San Antonio 78238
- Same-day eCard
- Yes, advertises a same-day eCard
One of the few providers advertising Spanish-language CPR classes.
The American Red Cross also runs BLS in San Antonio through its own class finder, with classroom, blended and recertification options. Its certificate is a Red Cross credential rather than an AHA card, so confirm your employer or program accepts it before booking.
Common questions
- Which BLS providers in San Antonio are AHA Training Centers?
- On their own websites, RC Health Services, Citywide CPR, CPR Heart of Angels and Help-A-Heart CPR describe themselves as AHA Training Centers. SC Healthy Minds, CPR Certification San Antonio, Rescue CPR, Thri, CPR Certification Labs and CPR San Antonio describe themselves as AHA Training Sites. Both issue the same AHA eCard.
- Who offers onsite BLS training at my facility in San Antonio?
- SC Healthy Minds, Help-A-Heart CPR, RC Health Services, Citywide CPR, CPR Cart, CPR Certification San Antonio, CPR Heart of Angels and CPR San Antonio all state that they run group or onsite training. Thri says it does not currently offer external classes.
- Is a skills-only BLS session enough for a first card?
- A skills-only session assumes you have completed the HeartCode BLS online course first. It is a legitimate route to an AHA card, but first-timers usually do better with an instructor in the room.
- Are these facts current?
- Every row was read from the provider's own website on 17 September 2026. Courses, locations and formats change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Your Partner in Quality. Your Partner in Success.
Together, we can build stronger teams, safer environments, and a higher standard of care.